This unique structure was used as a coal chute until 1965, when its current owner, Transco Railway, bought the tract that it sits on.
Built in 1910 for the Central of Georgia Railroad, the Coaling Tower is a relic of Macon’s booming industrial heritage. It was built to replenish coal for the busy rail yard close by. The chute sits on a 22-acre parcel that once housed the Central of Georgia Railroad car shops and massive roundhouse complex.
More Photos
Back to Top